top of page

Our Newsrooms

The Beacon serves Kansas and Missouri through our two newsrooms in Wichita and Kansas City, along with statehouse reporters in Topeka and Jefferson City.
September 2022- Instagram Squares (34).png

We serve revelatory, data and solutions-driven stories to the Kansas City-metro centered around issues in health care, education, labor, housing, and state and local government.

September 2022- Instagram Squares (33).png

Wichitans deserve a trusted source for unbiased, independent local news. We’re here to provide it — and partnering with the community to make it happen.

BeaconEvent_ZachBauman_20221013-90.jpg
315103592_530030309136849_5382077874445513504_n.jpg
BeaconEvent_ZachBauman_20221013-124.jpg
BeaconEvent_ZachBauman_20221013-101.jpg
BeaconEvent_ZachBauman_20221013-249.jpg

Our
Team

The Beacon’s staff handle editorial content, audience development and day-to-day newsroom operations. The editorial independence of our editors and reporters is critical to the mission of The Beacon.
The Beacon serves Kansas and Missouri through our two newsrooms in Wichita and Kansas City, along with statehouse reporters in Topeka and Jefferson City.

Beacon Reporters

Staff photos (28).png

Maria Benevento

The Kansas City Beacon’s education reporter✉️ maria@thebeacon.media

Staff photos (30).png

Meg Cunningham

The Kansas City Beacon’s Missouri Statehouse reporter
✉️ meg@thebeacon.media

Staff photos (35).png

Mili Mansaray

The Kansas City Beacon's housing and labor reporter 
✉️ mili@thebeacon.media

Staff photos (34).png

Josh Merchant

The Kansas City Beacon’s local government reporter
✉️ josh@thebeacon.media

Staff photos (32).png
Staff photos (31).png

Miranda Moore

Trace Salzbernner

The Beacon's state house reporter
✉️ miranda@thebeacon.media

The Wichita Beacon reporter
✉️ trace@thebeacon.media

Staff photos-5.jpg

Polly Basore Wenzl

The Wichita Beacon editor
✉️ polly@thebeacon.media

Beacon Staff

Staff photos (33).png

Gary Enrique Bradley-Lopez

Staff photos-2.jpg

Kristen Nicole Powell

The Kansas City Beacon’s Community Engagement Bureau manager✉️ gary@thebeacon.media

The Wichita Beacon’s Community Engagement Bureau manager
✉️ kristen@thebeacon.media

bottom of page